in , ,

Osun APC State Working Committee (SWC) faction reject Governorship Primary held on Friday

All Progressives Congress
All Progressives Congress

APC STATE WORKING COMMITTEE: Crisis is still brewing in Osun APC that might go beyond redemption except urgent action is taken to nip in the bud.

11 out of the 16 members of the State Working Committee of the party rejected the direct method of the primary election held on Friday that produced Gboyega Oyetola as its flag bearer for September 22, 2018 gubernatorial election.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Crisis inOsun APC deepens as Alhaji Moshood Adeoti (Sheu) dumps All Progressives Congress (APC)

Addressing newsmen in Ilesa, Osun State, the Acting Chairman of the party, Alhaji Isa Azeez Adesiji said that the State Working Committee of the party rejected the governorship primaries declaring the exercise as null and void.

It would be recalled that the state working committee had earlier on Monday announced the suspension of Gboyega Famodun and Alhaji Rasaq Salinsile as Chairman and secretary of the party.

The SWC committee thereafter announced Alhaji Isa Azeez Adesiji and Alhaji Bakare Idera as acting Chairman and acting Secretary respectively.

Adesiji flanked by members of state working committee of the party dissociated members of the committee from the primary election carried out on Friday adding that only the two suspended officers of the party were involved in the exercise.

Other members of the state working committee present are Ogunremi Oladosu, Vice Chairman, Yinusa Akintola Amobi, Osun West Senatorial leader, Alhaja Kudirat Fakokunde, State Women Leader, Bakare Rasheed Idera, Acting Secretary, Prince Ademola Bamidele, State Auditor, Niran Mojeed, state youth leader, Akin Morakinyo, Public Relations Officer, Afolabi Aina Assistant PRO, Wole Adunola, Ex-officio and Dr. Idayat Bakare, Assistant Welfare Officer.

READ ALSO: Senator Ademola ADELEKE in a certificate scandal that could make or mar his political career

Others are Tajudeen Agbeti, ex-officio, Oluwole Aliyu, welfare officer, Adegoke Ogunsola, Legal Adviser, Sikiru Olayiwola, Assistant Treasurer, Asaolu Oladiran, Assistant Financial Secretary, Olanibi Segun, Treasurer, Felicia Omolaoye, women leader and Funmi Adegbile.

Others party chieftains present are Hon. Niran Fajuke, Hon. Babatunde Ayeni, Sayo Abimbola, Afusat Alesinloye and Adeyinka Salawu.

The acting Chairman of APC, Adesiji therefore appeal to the national chairman of the party and other stakeholders of the national working committee to as a matter of urgency to do the needful by conducting fresh governorship primary in line with delegate system as done in others before Osun as well as during the presidential primaries in 2014 to pick president Muhammadu Buhari.

He maintained that the direct primaries is a step taken contrary to the expected democratic norms and which may eventually spell doom for the party.

According to him, “we wish to bring to your notice that before the direct primary, all state apparatus were made available to the ‘anointed’ candidate, therefore depriving others of a level playing field.


“In view of all the reasons stated earlier and for record purposes, we all hereby counsel against the adoption of the direct primary being used for July 20th 2018 primary election while we dissociate ourselves from whatever the outcome of governorship primary.

“To us, the governorship primary in Osun APC is hereby rejected by us and therefore null and void, the SWC declared.

Meanwhile, Director of Publicity, Research and Strategy of APC in Osun State, Kunle Oyatomi said, “APC primary is a victory for members” in a press release made available to SOJWORLD.COM on Saturday.
He praised the primary that produced Gboyega Oyetola as APC flag bearer for the September 22, 2018 governorship election.
According to Oyatomi, “the peaceful and orderly participation of APC members made the event so credible and rancor-free that the party is delighted and proud of everyone who contributed to this remarkable outcome.”

READ ALSO: OSUN 2018: Hon. Rotimi Makinde reacts to Gboyega Oyetola victory

“The party was especially impressed and proud of the attitude of the aspirants that exhibited an uncommon spirit of sportsmanship, which was not anticipated by observers and even some supporters of the party.”
He concluded, “Finally, the APC urged all contestants who participated in the exercise and those who didn’t to rally behind the popular choice of our party members, as one united force so that victory will be assured for the APC in September.” © June 21, 2018

Written by sojworldwide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Senator Ademola Adeleke

Senator Ademola ADELEKE in a certificate scandal that could make or mar his political career

Senator Bukola Saraki, The Senate President of Nigeria

How APC strives to prevent Senate President Bukola Saraki, Senator Kwankwaso from defecting to other party