Lagos Government Bans ‘OKADA’ in Four Local Government Areas and Six Local Council Development Areas

Spread the love

The Lagos state government has announced a ban on the operations of commercial motorcycles, popularly known as okada, in four additional LGAs and 6LCGAs in the state.

The development was announced by Frederic Oladeinde, Lagos Commissioner for Transportation, during a media briefing, on Thursday.

The affected LGAs includes:Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Shomolu, and Mushin.

Recalls that Babajide Sanwo-Olu, governor of Lagos, in may announced a total ban on commercial motorcycle operations in six LGAs, which include Ikeja, Surulere, Eti Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island and Apapa.

READ ALSO:MOT Taskforce disbanded by Lagos State Government

Speaking during the media briefing, Oladeinde said the governor has approved the second phase of the ban on operations of commercial motorcycles.

The commissioner said the ban also affects the local council development areas (LCDAs) that make up the affected LGAs.

The affected LCDAs inckudesKosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga and Odi-Olowo. The ban will be effective from September 2022.

READ ALSO:Mixed reactions trail Federal Government proposed ban on commercial motorcycles (OKADA) 

Oladeinde said the decision was taken in order to improve the peace and security of the state.

“Mr Governor has approved the ban of okada in another four LGAs and six LCDAs for the second phase of the total ban in addition to the ongoing ban in the six LGAs,” the commissioner said.

The Lagos government has so far placed a ban on okada in 10 LGAs in the state.

Editor’s Note:

Contact SOJ WORLDWIDE ONLINE NEWS ( for your wedding ceremony, birthday, conference, Exclusive interviews, placing of advert banner, publicity and awareness on 09069473894.

KINDLY send your name and location to our WhatsApp No. receive our news updates directly into your WhatsApp box.

SOJ WORLDWIDE…an ONLINE NEWS with a difference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.