UEFA Women’s Player of the Year, who wins, Bronze, Harder, Renard?

Photo Credit: UEFA

The 2019 winner of UEFA, Lucy Bronze will slug it out with Pemille Harder and Wendie Renard for the 2019/20 Women’s Player of the Year award.

READ ALSO:  UEFA Super Cup rolls of honour, clubs, countries from inception

Lucy Bronze, Pernille Harder and Wendie Renard are the three nominees for the 2019/20 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year, UEFA Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year and UEFA Women’s Champions League and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Nyon on Thursday 1 October.

READ ALSO:  Bayern wins UEFA Super Cup by 2-1 win against Servilla

The UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day.

England right-back Bronze was the 2018/19 winner and secured a third straight UEFA Women’s Champions League title with Lyon in August before returning to Manchester City, who she left in 2017 for the French side.

Denmark attacker Harder, the 2017/18 award winner, also moved to England this month, joining Chelsea from Wolfsburg. She had helped the German club to another final in August, scoring nine goals in the campaign including four in the last eight against Glasgow City.

READ ALSO:   Who wins UEFA Men’s Player of the Year: De Bruyne, Lewandowski or Neuer?

France defender Renard was again at the heart of Lyon’s triumph, having been part of all their nine finals in 11 seasons and seven titles, including five in a row. The OL captain also scored five goals in their campaign including the semi-final winner against Paris Saint-Germain.

How the players were picked
The UEFA Women’s Player of the Year prize recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, who played for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season. Players are judged on performances in all club and national-team competitions.

READ ALSO:  EFL: Man United devours Luton 3-0, see other results

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury composed of the coaches of the eight clubs which participated in the final tournament of the 2019/20 UEFA Women’s Champions League and 20 journalists specialising in women’s football and selected by the ESM group.

Photo Credit:  UEFA
Photo Credit: UEFA

Previous winners were Nadine Angerer (2013), Nadine Kessler (2014), Célia Šašić (2015), Ada Hegerberg (2016), Lieke Martens (2017), Pernille Harder (2018) and Lucy Bronze (2019).

READ ALSO:  INSIDE LIFE: Prophet butchers Mother, two others to death

The rest of the top ten
4 Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal) – 26 Votes
5 Delphine Cascarino (Lyon) – 24 Votes
6 Eugénie Le Sommer (Lyon) – 13 Votes
7 Ada Hegerberg (Lyon) – 11 Votes
= Amel Majri (Lyon) – 11 Votes
9 Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain) – 8 Votes
10 Dzsenifer Marozsán (Lyon) – 7 Votes

READ ALSO:  INSIDE LIFE! Prostitutes threaten strike action, vows to increase charges

Editor’s Note:  Advertise your products and services on our page to get maximum patronage.
Contact us on 08023851511, 09053330641 or for your advert placement, Press Release, Conference, Interview, Media and Publicity at minimal charges.

Nigerian army is our army, support them to win the war on terror.

SOJ WORLDWIDE…an ONLINE NEWS with a difference
 (c) September 26, 2020

Written by Adesoji OMOSEBI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Police Changes State Commissioners, Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Other Officers

No one will be spared over stripping of hotel staff naked – Police

Iyaafin Sherifat Abidemi Aregbesola @ 60

My Angel is 60 by Rauf Aregbesola – A romantic throwback with Sherifat